Pocketed Coils or Titanium Coils

Buying a mattress with titanium coils?

Is better to have a mattress that has titanium coils included, like the ones offered by Sealy, or the individual super pocketed coils found in Stearns and Foster or in Simmons Beautyrest? 
This was the question a caller asked Bedding Hotline’s mattress adviser yesterday. She says the Simmons mattress she is considering is slightly more expensive than a Sealy and if the coils are better in a Sealy would it make more sense to buy the Sealy Posturepedic.
This would not matter to her so much except her husband liked the Simmons Beautyrest mattress better.

Our Experts Opinion

Always Check The Comfort Material Specifications
Answer:  American Mattress manufacturers have very good coil systems, in fact I think it mattress coils may be about the most reliable product offered.  I can’t recall a time when a coil has failed a single customer. With that said it is important to point out the amount of titanium in the Sealy is questionable because there is no amount specified in the design standard.  It literally could be 10% of the total or even less than that.  It is possible for a manufacturer to make a claim about the steel in the coil by using only a coating.
On the other hand Simmons boast about the amount of high carbon steel in there coils with a minimum of 47-1/2” of steel in a single Beautyrest coil, 63-1/2” in the SmartResponse coil, and 141” of steel in an advanced coil used in the Beautyrest Black (triple) wrapped coil.
Basing the decision about a mattress based only on the coil design is the right way to go about making the decision.
Sealy makes a really good product that is worth the money, there is no doubt about that, but my concern is the difference in the amount of information coming down from the manufacturers.  I checked the Sealy website before finishing this blog article to confirm there is still no answer to the quantity of titanium. There is no information anywhere I have looked. If anyone has this information please feel free to forward it to me.
 The reason this concerns me is recently I bought what I thought was 100% orange juice.  The label said ORANGE JUICE and 100% juice but I discovered there was pineapple juice added in which is cheaper.  So my concern is that the Sealy coil is the same, 100% steel with lightweight titanium added to sell the mattresses because consumers don’t check, just as I did not check with the juice.

This doesn’t  mean Sealy  isn’t worth the money, it just means the Simmons mattresses I trusted all these years have performed well and I know exactly what is in them.  Please buy whichever mattress you like best and I am sure you will do well.  Sealy makes a great product and so does it competition.

Here is my final word on the coils.  Since the invention of the pocketed coil I have sold thousands of these mattresses without a coil ever failing.  Usually the culprit in mattress failure is the comfort materials and you should compare those to make up your mind.  This is the most important thing to do to get a satisfactory mattress that is worth the money.  In my opinion both Sealy and Simmons offer great coils and you will find they both support your body well.  My advice is to pay attention to what foams are used in the mattresses instead of the coils.
Best regards,
Jeff Watters
888-557-0977

Leave a comment